Rachael 

Hi Rachael. tell us a little bit about yourself…

I’m a recent Arts graduate who lives in Northumberland.  I studied a degree in Fine Art and Illustration in the West Midlands and still draw and sketch whenever and wherever I can.  I’m 23 and originally from SW Scotland.

When did you start being a V volunteer?

Just last month!  I saw that there was a need for some new volunteers in the North East and I jumped at the chance to gain some valuable experience working with art and artists in my local region.  It’s a great opportunity to meet new people and make links, hopefully leading to some exciting new projects in the future.

What do you get up to in your spare time?

When I’m not working, I  enjoy meeting with friends, watching new films, drawing and painting.  Studying in the Midlands have left me with friends and a boyfriend down South so I also enjoy finding things to do on the 3 and a half hour train journey…

Wow, how often do you get down there? Do you find it hard living here and traveling so much?

No, well sometimes it’s hard.   But there is so much new art and Birmingham is such a vibrant city I enjoy getting down there whenever I can…I like the flexibility of being able to apply for jobs here and there as it gives me more opportunities to see what is available.  I go every couple of months, my boyfriend is also a graduate artist so I often get roped in to helping with his exhibitions and projects (using me purely for my car I reckon!)

What was the last book you've read?

Probably something highly embarrassing but I tend to delve in and out of magazines, art books and pick up and put down new reads all the time.

Finally, what are your plans for the future?

I’d like to use my experience with volunteering here to good use either in the field of the arts promoting and selling my own work or in an arts-related job.  I think I may end up moving south eventually but will miss the beaches here, I love visiting Druridge Bay (near Ellington, Northumberland) and also because it is so close to my relatives in Scotland – I would miss visiting my wee 2-year old niece!